Ballincollig Munster Ranking

A busy weekend was had by all members of Ballincollig Table Tennis Club players, parents and committee. Our annual Munster Ranking event took place in Colaiste Choilm with over 90 players taking part from all over Munster. 
Under 13’s was up first on Saturday morning, Ballincolligttc’s only entry was James Kingston who made it through to the main draw but was beaten in the last 16 stage.
Next up were the Under 15’s. The club had a big entry with Jack O’Keeffe, Cian Ross, Adam Buckley, Robert Danilovskiy, David Manning, Erik Olsson, Ryan Power and Ciarán O’ Donoghue taking part. After some good and not so good matches we had 2 players in the semi final Erik and Ciarán. Unfortunately they played each other in the semi final. With Ciarán winning. It was Ciarán v Nick in final with Ciarán winning the Ballincollig title for a third year in a row.
Erik beat against Issac Leahy for 3rd place.
In the girls under 15’s Thi Ly Cashman was on a mission and played Silke in the final but lost on this occasion.
The under 11’s also took place on Saturday afternoon. Over 20 players took part. Ballincolligttc were repersented by Jack and Cian O’Sullivan, Ben Whelan, Nico Michalik and Krzysztof Sobiech all playing in their first tournment. Jack and Ben made it through to the main draw and Cian, Nick and Krzysztof were in the plate. We were delighted when Krzysztof won the plate. A great time was had by all players and friendship’s made.
Sunday morning the Under 18’s took place. In the girls event we had the Cashman sisters Thi Ly and Thuy Linh playing with both girls reaching the semi finals. Thuy Linh reached the final and was beaten by Silke. Thi Ly came 4th. 
In the boys under 18 Cian, Ciarán, Adam,Erik, Oisin Herberich and for the first time David and Ciarán Cottor. Ciarán Cottor reached the plate semi final. David won the plate.
Erik and Ciarán O’Donoghue and Cian reached the u18 semi finals. It was Ciaran v Cian and Erik v John. Erik had a very close 5 setter game unfortunately lost. It was Ciarán in the final and won. Cian and Erik played in 3rd /4th playoff with Erik winning.
We also had the veteran’s section our own Dan Foley didn’t take part in the event this year. Philip Shaw beat Kevin O’ Brien in the final.
 New to the Munster Ranking is the intellectual disability event. There were 9 players taking part. With Harry Sorensen winning 1st division, Ben Og Brady Bates 2nd division and Craig Cleary the 3rd division. 
In the under 21’s Alan Walsh was the winner.
The final event was the mixed Senior’s. In Band 1, Ballincollig Table Tennis Club didn’t have any entries, Julia Pikus won her first Munster event with Marcus Heinen coming second.
 In Band 1, Shane O’ Connor, Alan Walsh joined Cian, Ciarán, Adam, Erik Thuy Linh and David for this event. Alan and Ciarán met in the quarter finals with Ciarán having a surprising win. Shane and Ciarán reached the semi final. We were hoping for an all Ballincollig final, unfortunately Shane lost in a close 5 setter. Ciarán won against Scott. In the final he played against Daniel and won 3-1. Well done to Ciarán on winning 3 titles last weekend.
The Club would like to thank the following for making the weekend such a success. To the Ballincollig Table Tennis Club committee for all their hard work behind the scenes. To our sponsors Ballincollig Credit Union, Dell / EMC, Ross’s Centra, Watergrasshill and Ted Bollard. Tom Mitchell,  tournament referee. Colaiste Choilm for the great venue. To Freddy who made some lovely cakes. To Conn Higgins for coaching at a very busy and successful weekend. A special Thank you to Shane O Connor who also coached all weekend and is a great example to our junior players. Lastly, to all the players, Munster clubs and parents who made it a great weekend.